Forums Latest Members

First Omega - Speedmaster Racing Co-Axial

1. L Tigre Oct 7, 2018

I just took delivery of my new Speedmaster Racing watch (model 329.30.44.51.01.001). This is my first ever Omega so of course I am pumped about it.

I had been wearing a Seiko Divers watch daily for the last 20 years, ever since receiving one as a gift from my wife on our first anniversary. As a 26 year old just out of grad school, that Seiko was a special “real watch” to me; I loved it and wore it almost every day for 20 years. But over time it became less and less right for daily wear, and in recent years I got the itch for something more. So recently I purchased a couple Swiss watches that I liked, including a Bell & Ross BR-03 and a Ball Aviator GMT. Enjoyable, but somehow these are secondary watches… good as alternates, but neither one is “the watch” to be worn daily for a decade or more. So I was seeking something special, something classic, something for daily wear, stainless with stainless bracelet, meant to last for decades. That was my spec as I went out shopping.

I considered going for a Rolex and especially the GMT Master II, which I really like. (And I value the GMT function, as I travel often). But somehow Rolex is not the brand for me. I am an engineer and entrepreneur. The guys I know wearing a Rolex are bankers, golf pros, country-club guys. All fine for them; but this is not my crowd. I looked at the Oris ProPilot with their in-house Calibre 114; seemed a very nice watch but I didn’t fall in love with it. I also looked closely at the Seamaster Planet Ocean. But I’m wearing a coat and tie more often now, which suddenly makes a dive watch a bit wrong. For that reason I gravitated toward something less dive-forward: the Seamaster Aqua Terra GMT. Like the Oris, the AT seemed very nice. But somehow I wasn’t inspired to pull the trigger.