Forums Latest Members

First Impressions - First Omega

1. aesguerra May 2, 2015

It's important to take note of this one fact: Up to a couple days ago, my nicest watch was a Seiko Solar Pilot Chronograph. I issue that warning because I am still very new to the world of high end watches, so try as I might, there's a chance that I STILL don't know what I THINK I know. (lol) That disclaimer tended to, let's get down to business.

[​IMG]

It's almost ridiculous to introduce this particular timepiece here. After all, Omega makes the biggest deal out of it's Speedmaster Professional line. I'm not saying that is a wrong thing, mind you: Any watch that has adorned the wrists of all but one of the Moonwalkers from the Apollo days WHILE they were on the surface of the Moon is indeed a big deal. But with that watch so well known, I'll keep it short and sweet and be more specific to the specific Speedy that I broke my quality-watch virginity with, the Speedmaster Apollo 15 35th Anniversary LE, here on referred to as the 3366.51.

Description
    For the most part, the 3366.51 is a 3752.50. Besides having the same case and bracelet, the watch shares the combination Hesalite front/Sapphire back feature that made the 3752.50 popular to those who wanted a display back so that they could admire the inner workings of their Speedy. But where the 3572.50 has the 863 movement, the 3361.50 has the less polished 861... and for good reason. More on that will follow.