Forums Latest Members

First ‘proper’ watch arrives tomorrow

1. Fretwatch Sep 9, 2020

First post - hello all!
    Absolutely terrified - my first proper automatic Swiss watch arrives tomorrow. It’s a preowned 2500 42mm Planet Ocean from around 2008. Bought through a seemingly respectable online preowned watch marketplace but as I am a complete newbie, I am out of my depth! I know lots about guitars and amps, but much less about spotting fake Omegas.
    Seller seemed genuine, answered lots of q’s, has all the paperwork and the watch looks honest for its age as far as I can tell, but I’m sure will need servicing, so I have realistic expectations. Not crazy money for a first foray into nice watches.
    Hoping to start a family heirloom as no one in my lineage seems to have bothered thus far, and one day, I hope it will be a treasured birth year watch for my son.
    Wish me luck!

davidswiss, Foo2rama, Wivac and 5 others like this.
  2. Hamish02 Sep 9, 2020

Good luck! Wrist shot tomorrow...

Fretwatch likes this.
  3. Scarecrow Boat Burt Macklin, FBI Sep 9, 2020

If you want to show us pictures from the listing there are members on here that can hopefully put your mind at ease.

DaveK and Fretwatch like this.
  4. Capt Cave Man Sep 9, 2020

Hello @Fretwatch, first of all welcome to OF, grab a coffee and start browsing, and searching on your soon to be first Omega, and congratulations!

I know how you feel as my first was purchasing a Breitling off of fleebay!

You will find a few members may frown on your post as its always best to include pictures where possible but we've all been newbies, I still consider myself one compared to a lot of members here.

DJG2645 and Fretwatch like this.
  5. Fretwatch Sep 9, 2020

Cheers mate - I think I’m past the point of no return now so I think I’d rather not know :)

6. DaveK Yoda of Yodelers Sep 9, 2020

No return window?

Scarecrow Boat likes this.
  7. michael22 Sep 9, 2020