Forums Latest Members

Fed Ex, USPS, and shipping

1. Muddlerminnow Dec 21, 2018

I’m fairly new to OF and watch collecting, but not so new to shipping valuable things like art and vintage fishing tackle—and recently had a pretty bad experience that I think is worth sharing, and which has a few important takeways for anyone shipping expensive things. Especially, now, during the merry season of porch and lobby thieves.

In my case, a gallery in Paris that I work with shipped two boxes of an art installation that is based on an archive of very rare fishing flies—and the archive includes correspondence, photographs, tying notes, materials charts, and so on—stuff that doesn’t look valuable—or even recognizable --as art. I spent four years working on this project. The value was many tens of thousands of dollars. While insurance and insurance values are important considerations, insurance doesn’t replace what was lost and is irreplaceable. A new watch can usually be replaced, for example, but not a one-of-a-kind vintage watch. The real issue is ensuring the packages arrive safely in the hands of the people to whom they are destined. Insurance and insurance claims require a different thread. This post is more about deliveries.

When Fed Ex arrived at my 30-unit condo building in Chicago, instead of taking the boxes to the mailroom, which is behind two locked doors, the Fed Ex deliveryman left them in the lobby inside the front door. Without getting a signature. Shortly later, when our USPS mailman exited the building, he did not realize he was being tracked--and someone slipped in the door he had opened--walked into the lobby, pulled his hoodie over his head, picked up the packages with the archive, exited the building, put them in his car parked out front, and drove on his merry way.

If you want to read more about the archive, you can here on fly-tying forum I frequent: https://www.sparsegreymatter.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=14219

CCTV captured it all.