Forums Latest Members
  1. citizenrich Metal Mixer! Sep 20, 2018

how do you know when your Longines is a re-dial?

This manufacturer seemed to have inconsistent branding and fonts over the years.

IMG_4675.JPG IMG_4697.JPG IMG_4698.JPG
    Edited Sep 20, 2018
    Spruce likes this.
  2. Spruce Sunburst dial fan Sep 20, 2018

No idea, but they all look great :)

citizenrich likes this.
  3. hotsauz Sep 20, 2018

I am still learning but I think all three of them are re-dials. The first one is a good re-dial.

Edited Sep 20, 2018
  4. citizenrich Metal Mixer! Sep 20, 2018

The third one is hideously bad. You're right, number one is a really good re-dial.
    Surprisingly, number two (which looks the worst of the three) is in fact legit.

I buy these from time to time from exasperated sellers for their gold weight and also for cheap parts.

murph and hotsauz like this.
  5. hotsauz Sep 21, 2018

Wow the 2nd is original? I am still not convinced especially on the "N"s, lol.

citizenrich likes this.
  6. MauiSurfBrah Sep 21, 2018

Really? I would hardly call any of them "hideous" myself. I am earnestly curious what in your opinion makes them so? The only thing about the photos that I'm seeing is that the second two photos are focused on the holders' hand, rather than the dial.

7. Dan S Sep 21, 2018

I would have pegged all three as re-dials, so I'm surprised to hear that the second one is original, given the apparent issues with the font and the poor alignment of writing and applied logo. No SWISS, no minute markers; just looks strange to me.

8. citizenrich Metal Mixer! Sep 21, 2018

"..are focused on the holders' hand, rather than the dial."

That's a curious comment. i even cropped the photos to remove as much of my hand as possible lol

i also had a difficult lighting situation and find when I hold the watches as I do, I've more control of the lighting. I'm not an especially good photographer to begin with. Do you have a better way?