Forums Latest Members
  1. Clausz Oct 21, 2018

Hi, I am new to Omega and purchased my first watch 2 months ago (Aug 2018) when I was visiting Istanbul.
    The purchase was not well planned as I was considering other brand but couldn't get it in Istanbul.
    (I read about the quality and accuracy of PO movement before though).

I ended up buying PO 600m Calibre 8500 co axial chronometer Model 23292422103001.
    However when I visited OB near my city, I was told that my new watch is old model and OB do not carry this model anymore.

After several research I found several things that concern me:
    1) I bought my watch at OB Nisantasi Istanbul but why does my warranty card show Rotap chop instead?
    Rotap is listed as Omega AD in Turkey but the store I bought my watch is OB Nisantasi, as below.
    OMEGA Boutique
    Abdi İpekçi Cad. No:65/A Maçka
    Teşvikiye, Nişantaşı
    34367 Istanbul

2) Does OB allowed to sell old model watch?

3) I read that price in OB is fixed and no discount is given.
    However I found out that the price I purchased is higher than the recommended retail price.
    Do Omega really control the watch price in OB?

Hope that somebody could clarify this.

Thanks

20181022_025850.jpg
    superfly likes this.
  2. noelekal Home For Wayward Watches Oct 21, 2018

Hi Clausz;

Would you give us a peek at your new watch acquisition?

3. flw history nerd Oct 21, 2018

I can't answer questions #1 or #3. However, I believe that an OB would be able to sell a discontinued model if it were NOS (new, old stock). A look on the Omega website, though, shows that this is still a current model.

4. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Oct 21, 2018

Some OB’s are run by jewelers not omega. Not uncommon for recently discontinued models to still be available esp when still listed on the website at OB’s.

As for selling above msrp... that is surprising

5. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Oct 22, 2018

Serial number checks out fine...