Forums Latest Members
  1. Vagante Nov 22, 2018

If I purchase a watch from a private seller in Europe and it is shipped to me in the United States am I obligated to pay duty or a tax?

2. ext1 Nov 22, 2018

Depends on what watch, its DV, laws & regulations of the US customs (which I'm not an expert about), what type of item it is declared as, etc. But generally you do need to. How much though would depend on the case.

connieseamaster likes this.
  3. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Nov 22, 2018

You may well be "obligated" to pay duties, but if it is of a lower value, and sent via USPS, it is unlikely that duties will be assessed.

4. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Nov 22, 2018

I think US requires a specific form to be completed which breaks down the watch into movement type (mech/quartz), case material, band / bracelet type, and so on. From that, they will determine what, if any tax is due.

I'm not a US citizen, but I've heard from others that tax is rarely levied on watches delivered to US. YMMV.

5. E-diddy Nov 22, 2018

In short, yes. However, it depends on a number of factors:
    - The carrier the seller uses to ship the item. Postal mail (e.g. USPS) can fly under the radar, but they lost 3.9B last year. If the piece is valuable, trust them I would not haha.
    - If the seller ship via DHL/FedEx/UPS, how they filled out the form as @oddboy mentioned
    - Which state you receive the item. Some states apply a use tax (in addition to U.S duty). However, if this is a truly a private seller (and not a dealer), you can ask for an exemption.

Good luck! As you can tell from the responses, some people get lucky, some have to pay according to the laws. I've experienced both.

connieseamaster and oddboy like this.
  6. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Nov 22, 2018