Forums Latest Members
  1. kingsrider Thank you Sir! May I have another? May 22, 2016

I am contemplating buying a Speedmaster auto. Maybe a 3510.50 . Am I nuts? They seem reasonably priced for a chronograph these days. What am I missing? Why are so many coming out of Japan on Ebay?

Edited May 22, 2016
  2. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder May 22, 2016

Don't

:)

blacksharpie, LawBrk and kingsrider like this.
  3. kingsrider Thank you Sir! May I have another? May 22, 2016

Ok, why?

4. JesterP May 22, 2016

Good point. I have been watching the same model for a while and noticed that there seem to be alot from Japan. Could this be that the Speedy reduced fits the average dimensions of a Japanese man better than a moon watch. I have relatively small wrist which made me look at them. I could however be totally wrong and they could all be fakes hehe

5. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder May 22, 2016

Well it does depend which one you buy and I must say I am no expert - BECAUSE they are no Speedmaster.

The movement is quite different and some of them (I remember seeing a post by @Archer where he defended some, but not others) are very difficult to service, to the point that Omega swap the movement rather than fix them. Others have commented on the module, or piggy back chronograph that is inelegant. As I say I am no reduced expert, but I have never heard much positive about them.

They are inexpensive, compared to a Speedmaster, but there the comparison ends. The only thing Speedmaster about them is the name. They almost look to me like a Chinese replica factory tried to make a Speedmaster.

If that's what you want, and you know what you are buying, then from Japan is in my experience a good way to acquire a watch. In general the dealers are very honest and efficient, the post is efficient, and the Japanese like to keep their watches well, usually with the box and papers intact.