Forums Latest Members

Did I just ruin my seamaster pro?

1. Mike Nov 30, 2016

So admittedly I am a watch noob, but I've been lusting after a blue dial SMP for years, and finally snagged one about a year and a half ago.

I did something dumb this morning and not sure what to do about it.

I unscrewed the crown (so I could manually wind it) and while it was unscrewed I noticed the bezel would not rotate freely. "Weird" I thought, maybe something is stuck in there. I guess I better put it in the sink with dish soap and warm water and shake it around a little bit, to see if I can free it up.

Well, that is what I did, except the crown wide open, as I had it submerged in soapy water, shaking it around.

What should I do?

Thanks everyone.

2. Jaacck Nov 30, 2016

is there obvious damage? Is it still functioning?

3. Rman Nov 30, 2016

:eek::eek::eek:

4. WatchVaultNYC Nov 30, 2016

I believe there's a small amount of WR even when the crown is unscrewed.

At this point, I'm more concerned that the the bezel will no longer turn, which can happen when you soap it up

Dan S likes this.
  5. Nitzbar Will sell any watch tougher than him. Nov 30, 2016

Leave it dial down to bring any water that may have made in away from the movement and dial. And get it to a watchmaker as soon as possible to get checked out. I'm sure some more qualified people will chime in soon, but put it dial down for the time being.

6. Mike Nov 30, 2016

No, there is no obvious sign of damage and the watch seems to function fine. (I'll keep an eye on how it keeps time over the next day or two I guess.)

The bezel is fine now. There must have been a small piece of dirt or something caught up there because after I shook it underneath some water it turns freely and as intended.

I'm just freaking out about ruining the internals of the watch with water. It wasn't submerged more than 12 inches, but I was shaking it somewhat violently to free up whatever might be catching the bezel.

7. Mike Nov 30, 2016