Forums Latest Members
  1. adamB Aug 14, 2017

Hi All,

I'm new to the world of vintage watches, and I just ordered this 1950(ish) Omega Seamaster Automatic 2577-6.

I paid about $500US for it. Since I don't really know what I'm doing, could anyone more knowledgeable tell me whether this watch is in 'good' condition and whether I got a good deal? ie. Is it all original, does anything stand out to you as a red flag, does the movement look okay? -- I think the dial has been redone(?) (I'm fine with that).

Any information or observations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance :)

Adam

IMG_5642.JPG IMG_5643.JPG IMG_5645.JPG IMG_5646.JPG IMG_5647.JPG
  2. omegastar Aug 14, 2017

I am afraid to hurt your feelings.

3. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Aug 14, 2017

I'm going to say no, not a good deal. The case is highly polished. Looks to be some serious corrosion near the crown but the photos are less than optimal. Looks like corrosion inside the caseback. The case back appears to have a matt finish, compared to the rest of the case. Better pictures will sort some of this out. Research first!!!

4. Mods I'm not really an ΩF mod but I play one on TV Aug 14, 2017

The sentence a don't know what I'm doing when spending 500 bucks I just don't understand.
    Your correct it a redial which your happy with. Re good value I will leave that too others to opine.
    I have a good friend that told me they want a "watch". After giving advice I told them whatever you do just check with me before you buy anything.
    They just sent me a pic of a worn 1970s gold plated "Quartz omega" they bought for over £300.
    I really don't know why I bothered spending time and providing them with lots of information and offering to help.
    I wish someone had offered me help before my early purchases.
    Thanks to the forum for all the help and knowledge sharing over the last few years.

omegastar likes this.
  5. omegastar Aug 14, 2017