Forums Latest Members
  1. Mr Bing Nov 4, 2015

Hello folks, new guy here. I've visited this forum a few times recently, found it interesting and informative, and this is my first time here as a member.

I'm a self confessed watch geek and Omega is my chosen brand. I'm the proud owner of a PO Limited Liquid Metal and more recently an Aqua Terra (golf). It's the AT that's giving me a headache....it was purchased new on bracelet but I'm looking to mix it up a bit with a strap or straps. I've got myself a OEM alligator strap at a good price and I'm looking for a 18mm deployment clasp to complete the look.

I'm quite shocked tbh at the price of a branded clasp so I've been looking on eBay. Prices range from £175 (used) to an extortionate £470 (new). I've found one at a more realistic price, pics look right, serial number 94521813 is present BUT something feels 'off' so I sent the seller a question asking if it is a genuine Omega part. This is the sellers response.....

I have got them by someone who told me It's made by third party
    authorised by omega but it's not made by omega. Therefore I think it
    can not be called fake but made by third party as a replacement for
    omega. And may be that's why it's cheap but it's 316l stainless steel.
    316l stainless steel is the high quality same buckle cost £150-300.
    However you can hardly say those are genuine.

I'm quite confused by the reply to be honest and alarm bells are ringing. Can anyone shed any light on the 'third party authorised by Omega' part? Does this sound genuine or is the seller spinning me a yarn?

Thanks
    Paul

2. wsfarrell Nov 4, 2015

They're fake---until the seller shows you the authorization letter from Omega.

That said, I've bought unbranded deployants in the Omega style on eBay and have been quite happy with them. I have one genuine example for comparison, but you're right: the prices are extortionate.

3. nurseford25 Nov 4, 2015

+1 They are fake

4. ulackfocus Nov 4, 2015