Forums Latest Members

Decided to get my first Omega - complete newbie

1. Volatyle Sep 6, 2020

Hey everyone,

So - a while ago I decided to get an Omega Seamaster - long story short, after getting it I reckoned it looked too small on my wrist, and even though i absolutely love the looks of it - I ended up never wearing it because of it's size (I know vintage watches are smaller, but to each his own I guess)

Since I still love Omega, and love their style I started searching for a watch "similar" in looks and style and I've now ended up aiming for a Omega Prestige Deville (new, or used)

I am specifically looking at the one named:
    [​IMG]

Buying this watch, completely new - in store in Sweden is around 3800USD. A bit steep - I'd pay it, but I also don't mind shaving some of that off, and I've always said my budget for a really nice watch is 2500USD.

So, started looking into used ones. And here's where I get a little bit lost and thought I'd ask the forum. I've found models from like 2013 (so, 7 years old) with basically the same price tag, hey - I've even found that specific model number, used, couple of years old - at a much higher price than brand new from store. What's going on here, what am I missing?

I may sound super dorky asking this, as you probably know exactly why :) But, I honestly don't get the price level on some of the used watches.

Apart from price, anything I _have_ to know, as a complete newbie about this watch specifically?

Thanks in beforehand, love this forum! Not very active myself, but I read through it daily :)

Vol

Edited Sep 6, 2020
  2. Alfista88 Sep 6, 2020

Hi Vol. I also share the bemusement you're observing around the pre-owned prices. Prices in the grey market have skyrocketed over the last 2-3 years. When I see some FS ads on used Seamasters and Speedmasters, the current asking prices for 2-5 year old watches exceed what the grey-market prices were for those same exact models BNIB just a year or 2 ago.