Forums Latest Members
  1. pitpro Likes the game. Feb 16, 2013

I have a Seamaster Automatic with a 2576 case that has an incorrect crown
    on it. I bought the proper NOS clover replacement for it. Can someone give me
    instruction on how to swap out the crown?
    Thanks John
    $(KGrHqR,!m!E-rGnGg8LBP3)8D7j,w~~60_12.JPG

2. chiko7734 Feb 16, 2013

Sorry, I don't really know how to do it, but your certainly braver than me!

3. pitpro Likes the game. Feb 16, 2013

When I got it, it was running about 70 seconds fast in 24 hours. I read up on how to regulate
    by adjusting the screw on the swan's neck. Now it's 3 seconds fast in 24 hours. So now
    I have new found Bravery! If it's not too intense and someone can walk me through it, I'd like
    to try doing it myself.

hoipolloi likes this.
  4. AJDay Feb 16, 2013

There will be a screw on the movement that holds the stem in (looks like it's the screw just below and to the right of the stem in your picture). You don't want to remove the screw completely, but loosen it just enough to remove the crown and stem. The crown will unscrew from the stem, holding the stem in a vice or with a set of pliers, but it is probably on there tight...

Definitely want to have the right tools, especially a good set of screwdrivers. Less risky once you get the stem out (can easily replace the stem if you mess it up), but you don't want to strip the screw head in the movement or have trouble getting it back in if you take it all the way out.

My advice in general would be to start tinkering with cheaper movements (I started by ruining common Hamilton and Bulova movements)

Either way, good luck!

5. ulackfocus Feb 16, 2013

How to replace a crown:

1) put watch on wrist or in pocket

2) drive to watchmaker's shop

3) give to watchmaker and tell him to replace crown

4) retrieve & wear watch when done - don't forget to pay watchmaker

Voila!

wagudc, omegasaso12, felsby and 7 others like this.
  6. chiko7734 Feb 16, 2013