Forums Latest Members

Courier service in the UK with insurance

1. Xrob45 Dec 24, 2018

A Merry Christmas to everyone..

I'm hoping to sell a couple of watches in the new year circa £6500 each. I really only want to sell them to a mainland UK buyer as I've no experience with international shipping and would be interested to know what courier service and insurance other UK sellers use.

Cheers

amiriqbal likes this.
  2. jimmyd13 Dec 24, 2018

Royal Mail insures up to £10,000 on their signed for service with a £10 surcharge (£9.xx in fact, but I don't remember exactly). Shipping jewellery or watches valued at over £2500 outside the UK is nigh on impossible with full insurance.

3. cchen Dec 25, 2018

Not exactly. I use parcel pro for insurance with intl shipments from UK and within UK RMSD

4. jimmyd13 Dec 26, 2018

When did you last use them? Their UK website has gone with only the option to email enquiries ... none of mine even being answered!

5. khanmu Dec 26, 2018

For the U.K. I use RMSD up to £3000. For all other and international, I use UPS - there are lots of drop off points, you can specify delivery only to nominated address (ie no redirect), fully tracked, fully insured, and signed for by an adult and you can easily print everything off at home. They have a good range of services and price points including express. I’ve used them for shipment to the US, Far East and Europe, they are perhaps a little more expensive but I’ve never had a problem....

6. cchen Dec 26, 2018

Not in a while but just logged in and I can still report shipments from the UK, though RMSD is no longer an option, only DHL, UPS, and Fedex now.

7. jimmyd13 Dec 26, 2018

Perhaps because you have an existing account? Possibly because the item I wanted to send was of particularly high value? I was fortunate enough to be able to use the OF underground.

8. Davidt Dec 26, 2018

I wasn't aware RM Special Delivery offer insurance up to £10,000, I thought it was only £2,500?