Forums Latest Members
  1. astrand Jul 1, 2018

Hey everyone,

I just wonder what the general consensus is about auction house watches. I came across this mid 90s seamaster with tritium dial and pip, which will I will be able to go and see in person on Friday.

I am by no means an expert when it comes to polish and wear and wonder if anyone can take a look and see if there's anything obvious that means I shouldn't waste my time with it.

https://www.kaplans.se/sv/auktioner/3425/vara/1459613

-What I can see is that there is a lot of grime on the watch which could mean it hasn't been polished, or was but not recently?
    -The seconds hand has faded which could mean a lot of sun exposure, but the bezel insert looks fresh, replaced?

Is it safe to assume that the movement was at least expected or seen by the auction house?

Any info is appreciated. I've been looking at new speedies, but if the price is right.. Why not.

Regards,
    Alex

Edited Jul 1, 2018
  2. padders Oooo subtitles! Jul 1, 2018

It is best if you upload the image but at a minimum, link directly to the pic:

[​IMG]

That bezel does look suspiciously tidy, that may mean it has been replaced by a new one which is fine if original or not if it is an aftermarket insert. Look at the 2 in 20, does it look odd to you? It does to me. The dial and hands look right, the hands on the tritium version always fade less than the dial plots and yes the second hands are often faded like that. Can't really judge polish from this pic but the case looks OK to me. I don't see there being much of a premium for tritium Bonds so I wouldn't consider paying more for this than a tidy 2005 model personally. In fact I would want it at a few hundred £/€ less since I don't like the dial/hands mismatch you get on these 94-97 models.

astrand likes this.
  3. astrand Jul 1, 2018

Thanks padders, and I'll be sure to link a photo next time.

I agree with your that the font looks odd on the bezel, now that you mention it.