Forums Latest Members
  1. shetland Apr 16, 2018

Hi, all! I'm out to purchase my first Constellation 14381 11 SC and would appreciate some input. I've read through a fair amount of Constellation articles on Desmond Guilfoyle's blog, but I am by no means an expert.

Here are the photos. The watch has been serviced recently. It looks good based on what I've read thus far, but I would feel much more confident if some of you experts could take a look. Are the components original and how much would you pay for it? Many thanks in advance!

1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 6.jpg 7.jpg 8.jpg 9.jpg 10.jpg
  2. kyle L Grasshopper Staff Member Apr 16, 2018

Although the movement looks decent, the dial and hands look pretty tired to me. Seconds hand looks a bit short and the dial looks like maybe it has been cleaned in the past. I think maybe $500-600 would be an appropriate price...

aap and ConElPueblo like this.
  3. ConElPueblo Apr 17, 2018

That's the question, isn't it? Unless you would happen to have a dial and a set of hands to restore the watch lying around, the value to a collector would be that of the parts alone; in this case about $150 (I guess) for the movement + a bit for the case. Even if you had the parts available, you'd still end up with a completed Constellation with a very worn caseback and quite polished case; the facets of the lugs and bezel are somewhat soft.

It happens to be one of my favourite Constellation references and I have a few of them, this one is a gold capped case with the same crosshair dome dial as the one in your post :)

[​IMG]

Hattrick likes this.
  4. cristos71 Apr 17, 2018

I agree with the above but do think the dial might well clean up quite nicely with some compressed air and a light brush. It looks like the black hand filling has come loose and ended up all over the dial.