Forums Latest Members
  1. pwmegs Feb 1, 2017

Hi all,

I am sorry if this is a repetitive questions. I looked back on several different discussions but was still not sure.

I have a 1970 Pre Moon Speedmaster Pro, 861. I generally keep the Chrono stopped. I was recently reading a discussion about the Pros/Cons of leaving the second hand running on a Seiko 6139 Pogue. The consensus seem to be that you should leave it running because there is a clutch mechanism in the movement that actually adds tension and stress when the Chrono/second hand is stopped and it is better to leave it running. In one of the comments someone mentioned this is the same for Omega Speedmaster. I am not sure if this is true or not.

Any thoughts would be welcome,

Thank you

Pmegs

Samir and brnistra like this.
  2. MaiLollo Feb 1, 2017

If I understood correctly, the 6139 has a vertical clutch system, and when the chrono is not running the brake holds it in place, whilst when it runs the brake is in a "stress-free" position. This is why it is best to leave the movement running at all times. I'm 99% sure it is not the case with the 861 caliber, I have a doubt with the 321 powered versions however.
    Someone much more knoledgeable than me will confirm (or infirm) this, do not worry ;)

PS: nice watch choices !

3. pwmegs Feb 1, 2017

Ha Yes, you described it much better than I did, Thank you

4. Jwit Not a doctor, but plays one on ΩF Feb 1, 2017

Waiting for @Archer to chime in with one of his incredibly educational breakdowns::popcorn::

Samir, starcraft and Vicke like this.
  5. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Feb 1, 2017

This can be looked at several ways...