Forums Latest Members
  1. Gasgard Jun 3, 2019

I'm new to Omega and wanted a nice trench cushion case watch. I just pulled a trigger on an interesting looking old Omega trench watch. I felt good about it and the seller seems trustworthy, but this is starting to feel like quick impulse buy that might bite me in rear. I looked up the case and movement numbers and they seem to be potentially close in years. 1917~1920 from my estimation). Attached are a couple of pics from the listing..... Omega trench 1.jpg Omega trench 2.jpg Omega trench 3.jpg
    I was just told on another place that this isn't even a trench watch. I think I bit off more than I could chew with this one. I know the band, crystal and crown aren't original; the seller indicated this. That being said the hallmark and Omega logo being stamped on the back kinda threw me off. How badly did I get ripped off?

dabbispade likes this.
  2. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Jun 3, 2019

The slightly cracked porcelain dial and movement look original to about 1920, which is consistent to the serial numbers. These should be close, but should not match.

It is unusual, but not unheard of, for the Omega mark and case serial number to be on the outside of the case. However, we tend to get nervous about authenticity when that does happen.

It is also possible that this is a re-cased ladies pocket or pendant watch, possibly done by an Omega dealer in the 1920’s. That was also a common practice.

Have you had the case tested for gold content? Is there any way to get a picture of the inside of the case back?
    gatorcpa

Foo2rama likes this.
  3. Gasgard Jun 3, 2019

Hey thanks for the info! Yes here's the pic provided from the listing of the inside of the case back

Omega trench 4.jpg
    I haven't gotten the watch in my possession yet, so I haven't been able to test anything yet. I didn't know this was a ladies size, it was described as being 31mm without the crown.