Forums Latest Members

Complete novice looking for his first vintage Omega. Budget?

1. blacktiger Mar 20, 2017

Hi,

I'm completely new to the watch collecting hobby, but I've been reading that one of the most popular brands of watch to start a small collection...is an Omega.

I'm in the market for a metal strap, but if a leather strap comes up then I'm completely open to that. I've a budget of around £150-£200 I know it's a long shot but if anyone could help and direct me to ones that I should be looking at on eBay or online, then I'd be so grateful.

I'm looking ideally for a watch with history, just love the idea of a 30 year old being passed down with it's huge history.

I'm 19, but have been a lover of watches since a being a young boy, I've had many watches over the years, of course these have changed massively within the style I liked at the time. For example I wore a series of blacked out watches, crazy I know! I'm currently wearing a Gold Hugo Boss, I know all of you watch collectors will be cursing me now, but again I was simply following trends! Now I want a watch that it isn't "trendy", I want a watch I can keep for ever and not only love for it's style and age, perhaps one that will even increase in value over the years, a watch I can look back on a know that was the first watch I got, first 'proper' watch anyway!

Hope that makes sense, any questions please just ask

Thank you!

Daniel

neilfrancis likes this.
  2. gop76 Mar 20, 2017

Welcome Daniel,

I would say that, with your budget, Omega is not the ideal place to start. With your budget, and without any knowledge, you, most likely, will end with a piece of crap in your hands that you gonna regret sooner than later.

There are lots of brands with a solid history and reputation, who made quality watches, that, with your budget, you should be able to find without difficulties a good specimen to start your collection: Certina, Roamer, Cyma, Mido, Tissot and many, many others. Think about it