Forums Latest Members

Complete novice looking for a little direct advice thanks

1. RedPhil Mar 17, 2017

Hi everyone

I've been reading around the forum for a little while - and other internet resources - as I'm looking to purchase an Omega Seamaster circa early 1960s. It's for daily use not for collecting etc, I have in mind what I'm after, you'll see from the links to some ebay auctions. My budget is around £400 tops. I appreciate that it is a big ask but would be very grateful if anyone could have a look at the following listings, I just need to make sure I'm heading down the right path.
    I've read the recommendations and how to spot a fake / redial threads, these look OK to my untutored eyes, anyone able to lend me the benefit of your experience.

This is BIN £425 – closest to the style I’m after, acceptable level of wear and ageing top end of my budget
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GENTS-STA...674706?hash=item58f140c092:g:tycAAOSwsW9YysXnPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

This from the same seller BIN £425 - not exactly what I’m after, again acceptable level of wear and ageing again top of my budget
    http:// http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/GENTS-VINTAGE-CAL-552-OMEGA-SEAMASTER-AUTOMATIC-WRIST-WATCH-/382001514517?hash=item58f1108815:g:-hYAAOSwWxNYxxQwPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

BIN £360 – love the look of this, lot of patina on dial puts me off a bit and no photo of the movement or inside of the case
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/AN-OMEGA-...523590?hash=item5696859246:g:d0YAAOSwax5YyEdzPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

BIN £385 – right up there but no photo of movement
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Omega-Sea...931543?hash=item2eff500b97:g:bZcAAOSw32lYxsSXPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network