Forums Latest Members

Collection Direction Deliberation

1. waking-crickets Feb 4, 2018

How many of you with focused collections have had an itch to branch out? I've been collecting (for the most part) mechanical alarm watches for the past few years, but lately have had an itch to branch out.

So here's my dilemma. I've noticed that an alarm watch I've been chasing for a few years has started popping up with some more frequency than usual and am tempted to snag one while I can.

On the other hand, I'm also really interested in extending my collection out in different ways either by building sub-collections around brands that are already part of my collection (e.g., a JLC Powermatic - Futurematic - Memovox collection) or just stuff that's caught my eye of late (Rolex Turn-o-graph, two-tone, jubilee bracelet, blue dial).

I'd be curious to hear how others have answered this question in the past.

Best!

GuiltyBoomerang likes this.
  2. Canuck Feb 4, 2018

IMO, you think too much about what to collect! If I like it, I buy it!

lando, Mods, ClarendonVintage and 3 others like this.
  3. waking-crickets Feb 4, 2018

Normally I would agree! But I am trying really hard not to let shiny things distract me from grails. Plus, I think I get more satisfaction out of my collection as a whole than any single piece.

ConElPueblo likes this.
  4. 77deluxe Feb 4, 2018

Part of collecting is figuring out what you like. Tastes change as you gain more knowledge. I say diversify. You can always flip.

5. SeanO Feb 5, 2018

Complete the collection.

If you decide to alter the focus then the existing collection itself can be liquidated to start your new one.

Or not.

6. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Feb 5, 2018

As my tag under my avatar suggests I have more branches than a tree.

Be a tree and branch out, but always keep your roots.

One of the fun watches I have bought in the last 5 years is this