Forums Latest Members

Cleaning watch movement and parts

1. bish789 Dec 21, 2014

Hi all.
    Getting into this great hobby big time now, and have bought a non worker to learn how to disassemble/reassemble.
    I've invested in quite a lot of proper tools now, but won't be buying a watch cleaning machine (yet anyway).
    I'm an engineer so it doesn't phase me, it's when you have bits left over there's a problem.::book::
    So the question is, for those of you who service your watches, and don't have a cleaning machine, what do you use to clean the parts?

2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Dec 21, 2014

What watchmaking books do you have? If you have none, these are also tools you need to invest in, so texts like:

http://www.amazon.ca/Practical-Watch-Repairing-Donald-Carle/dp/1602393575

http://www.amazon.ca/Watch-Repairers-Manual-Henry-Fried/dp/1626549982

These are both older texts that will give you basics about how various mechanisms work, some simple steps on performing repairs, and yes sections on how to clean "the old fashioned way" without dropping $15k or more on a modern cleaning machine.

A good free text is TM 9-1575, which is a 1950's repair manual for ordnance maintenance, for wrist watches, pocket watches, stop watches, and clocks. Here is a link to download this document for free:

https://archive.org/details/TM9-1575

Cheers, Al

PauloSummer, NT931, Buck2466 and 3 others like this.
  3. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy Dec 21, 2014

Quadrophenic-Schizophrenia

4. ChrisN Dec 21, 2014

I am also an amateur in this and have the first and third books Al recommended. As an Engineer as well, I make sure I understand each part of the mechanism before disassembly. Take photos as well and always assume that the part you thought was easy to dissasemble will leap away from you onto the floor.;) Good advice Al gave me was "Don't work when you're tired". By the way, far easier to start with something that does work.