Forums Latest Members

Ceramics. Which models, when and other info.

1. Pakiwi Aug 4, 2016

I am an engineer by trade and those around me would say I am very black and white in how I view things.
    Always loved Omega for their preciseness and detail since seeing it on my fathers wrist growing up.

So I am interested in when Omega went to Ceramics and which models have been ceramic. I believe I read that there was also a change in the mixture for ceramics.
    I have to say seeing the DSOTM video and graphics on this site, the preciseness of how it looks has me interested, though this is definitely out of my price range.
    I know I am going to have to go see some Ceramics in person, though I have to travel several hours to the boutique, which I may do on my next day off.
    I know I have seen at least two ceramics damaged on this website, but from what I have read, that is certainly not the norm.
    Thanks for any info.
    Allan

2. mdgrwl Aug 4, 2016

I know the Planter Ocean went ceramic from the 2500 to 8500 - someone correct me if I'm wrong?

3. shaun hk Fairy nuffer Aug 4, 2016

Are you referring to the case, the dial or the bezel?

4. Pakiwi Aug 4, 2016

Yes, yes and yes.

5. abrod520 Aug 4, 2016

Ceramic bezel insert perhaps, but not the case or dial as is the situation with the Dark Side / Grey Side models

6. mdgrwl Aug 4, 2016

Ah, didn't know you were looking for the entire case to be Ceramic. I know the Dark/Grey SOM but that's about it, sorry.

7. Pakiwi Aug 4, 2016

I am interested in which models have ceramic pieces. I am guessing the dial was first. If so which modern model has the ceramic dial.
    I know since the dial they have moved on to bezel and case.

8. friendharry Aug 4, 2016

The Planet Ocean 42 mm had a LE with ceramic case
    The DSOTM, GSOTM, WSOTM and the black, vintage blac and sedna ceramic.
    And this year the meteorite dial / ceramic case

Pakiwi likes this.
  9. Gsa Aug 4, 2016