Forums Latest Members
  1. alpinamotorsport Aug 5, 2014

Well I pulled the trigger on my first fine watch, a brand new Speedmaster 3570.50--which arrives today. Easy choice since I was born in 1969. My newbie question of the day is how do I clean it day to day, or week to week. I am an expert when it comes to detailing my cars, but I lack the knowledge with watches. Should I just wipe it off with a soft cotton cloth? Do I use a toothbrush on it under water, or will that scratch the metal? Should I buy an ultrasonic machine and if so, what kind of solution do I put in it? I would like to keep this watch for the rest of my life so I wish to take good care of it.

2. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Aug 5, 2014

Well, would you drop your favourite car into an ultrasonic? (Sorry, couldn't help myself);)

If you think of a Speedmaster like a car, you will be on the right track. Although rated waterproof, they really are not for long, as the design is not up to waterproof needs, relying on gaskets that degrade. Certainly not up to immersion, or pressure. Water resistant perhaps, but I do not like to wash my hands with a speedmaster on - I do but avoid the water on the watch.

Having said that, my (charming/beautiful/lovely/normally intelligent) wife "accidentally" took a shower with her freshly serviced 1969 vintage speedmaster. Luckily I told the workshop she would probably do that, and we made sure it was waterproof. They also told me to check it every six months if I thought she would do it again.

Soft cloth - and wear it. Its a tool watch, after all, not a Patek.

Welcome to the speedy club. Get some scratches on it and you will be like the rest of us.

JohnSteed likes this.
  3. alpinamotorsport Aug 5, 2014

Thanks spacefruit. So I should not even wash it gently with Vereat under a gentle stream in my sink? I thought it was water resistant to 100m? No pool? No shower? thanks for clarifying.

4. Interstatetime Aug 5, 2014