Forums Latest Members

Cant figure out this De Ville quartz...would love some help

1. Anthonyw Jul 3, 2017

Hi all,

Didn't see a stickied introductions thread so I thought I'd introduce myself here. I'm just getting into collecting vintage watches because I love the history behind them and the research that is needed to make sure you dont get ripped off. So far its been a bit of adventure and adrenaline all mixed up sitting in front of my computer!

Anywho...so the De Ville...

I fell in love with the elegant TV case, the subtle patina, and the really cool band/clasp. The movement looks legit and the watch seems to be well taken care of in general. I also wanted a quartz for an everday watch to save on servicing costs. The problem is that the ca. 1330 De Ville Quartz listed on the Omega Heritage site only had leather bands, "De Ville" is printed in cursive, and "Quartz" was printed under "De Ville". The watch I bought on eBay had stainless steel bands, "De Ville" in all caps, and "Quartz" under "Omega". I posted a screenshot of additional details listed with the item.

So my question is if this watch is just a variation of the ca. 1330 De Ville or if it is a redialed franken watch. I'm still within the return window but I really like the look of it so even if its a redialed franken I might still keep it since it was only $117.

I'd love to hear any advice and knowledge from experienced members, thanks in advance!

Anthony

Stainless Steel De Ville front.jpg Stainless Steel De Ville front 2.jpg Stainless Steel De Ville front 3.jpg Stainless Steel De Ville crown.jpg Stainless Steel De Ville clasp.jpg Stainless Steel De Ville movement.jpg Screen Shot 2017-07-03 at 7.41.47 PM.png
  2. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Jul 3, 2017

Looks fine to me.