Forums Latest Members
  1. Toscano Apr 27, 2017

Hi everyone!

I'm not an expert on Omega watches (or any other brand, for that matter...).
    Recently I was helping my father clean his attic, and we found this Omega in a box of belongings from my late grandfather. My father actually swears he's got a couple more Omegas like this one lying around somewhere. Maybe they'll pop up eventually.
    Apart from a few scratches, it still looks very good and everything seems to function properly.
    My father tells me they must have been purchased in the late 60's, a few years before I was born, so it's probably some 60's model.
    Can someone tell me something about this watch?
    I don't have any documentation, and on the watch itself it doesn't say the model name.

I'm planning on cherishing it, but not wearing it, as it seems too small for my wrist.
    I don't care if it's worth $20 or $200, as I'm never going to sell it.

Just wanted to know a bit more of this piece of History I now possess.

And I'm guessing I better start shopping around for an Omega of my own now, right? ;)

Thanks!

André Toscano

IMG_7598.JPG

IMG_7600.JPG

Vitezi likes this.
  2. Gordon Heavyfoot Apr 27, 2017

Nice watch. Simply google Omega Chronostop Geneve and you'll uncover a plethora of information on your heirloom.

Mark020 and Toscano like this.
  3. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy Apr 27, 2017

Toscano likes this.
  4. Davidt Apr 27, 2017

Looks like a Geneve Chronostop with the original bracelet. These seem to go for around £600 in decent condition.

Search this forum and google and you'll get info and other examples.

Toscano likes this.
  5. Toscano Apr 27, 2017

You're right! It does say "Chronostop" on the dial. I dismissed it as I thought it just said the usual "Chronograph".
    Thanks!

6. Toscano Apr 27, 2017

Wow!
    That's amazing! People are still paying close to 800€ / $900 for this model! These watches really keep their value.
    Thanks.