Forums Latest Members
  1. Tetchyfett Feb 14, 2015

Hi all, just bought this watch (I'm a noob) and was hoping someone here could identify and age the watch for me. Serial num is most likely on the inside. I believe the strap and clasp are not original to the watch, but I could be wrong. Thanks.

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

2. peatnick Feb 14, 2015

welcome, you have a 1983 Darwin per Omega's vintage database
    http://www.omegawatches.com/planet-omega/heritage/vintage-watches-database?ref=14631
    Darwin
    Gents' leather strap
    Reference
    MD 166.0281
    International collection
    Movement
    Type: Automatic (mechanical)
    Caliber number: 1110
    21 jewels
    Functions
    Date
    Case
    Gold-plated
    Case back
    Screw-in
    Dial
    not available
    Crystal
    Sapphire
    Bracelet
    Leather
    Water resistance
    30 meters
    [​IMG]

Not sure on the strap but believe you correct the buckle is a reproduction, the underside says acier inox (stainless steel) original would have been marked Plaque G (gold plate).

You could find a replacement strap with a non Omega buckle easily or try to hunt down a n original replacement at otto frei (US) or cousins (UK) depending where you are

Enjoy!

3. Tetchyfett Feb 14, 2015

Great thanks, is it a good watch? Common watch?

4. peatnick Feb 14, 2015

5. Event horizon faux seller of watches and complete knobhead Feb 15, 2015

I if you picked this watch out you probably like it and it's automatic over the plethora of Quartz for that time period. The eighties were a bit of a low point for Omega. I doubt your watch was made in the volume compared to the current Aqua terra line.