Forums Latest Members

Calling all who have experience with mechanical alarm watches......

1. Flingit1200s Dec 28, 2016

Mrs Fling and I have some good friends whose son (Chase) is deaf. Chase is a cool young man and will graduate from college this coming May. While chatting with Chase's mom, I found out that one of the challenges Chase has is waking up if he falls asleep anywhere besides his own bed (his bed has some kind of shaker). The family was trying to find some kind of sport watch (apple or other) that would emit some vibration when the alarm went off. Fast forward. I thought it would be cool to find a mechanical watch that he could wear that would give him some "feel" of the alarm and would also look nice for his upcoming interviews, job, etc. I have no experience with mechanical alarm watches so I need some help from my OF family. What alarm watch would you suggest for a deaf young man who needs to feel the alarm go off?

John

2. Alpha Kilt Owner, Beagle Parent, Omega Collector Dec 28, 2016

As the owner of an Apple Watch ::facepalm2:: I suspect it would be the best option but and I genuinely have second thoughts about mentioning this the Poljot I have listed really does create quite a vibration as I am sure many others do.
    Step in our alarming members :) for more advice.

3. Vitezi Dec 28, 2016

Edited Dec 29, 2016
  4. chronos Dec 28, 2016

Hello John,

If the waking up part is the only problem, there is an easy fix for it without even getting any new watches involved. I know this is a watch forum and you'd probably want to get some watch suggestions.
    But to solve the whole thing on a solution based approach:

Just tell him to set an alarm on his phone, make sure the vibra is set on and put it in his pants' front bag.