Forums Latest Members
  1. johnnylarue Mar 11, 2017

Hi folks,

I've decided to take an imminent tax return and turn it into a nice watch rather than letting it fester with the rest of my savings at 0.000001% interest. I figure a nice, carefully chosen vintage Omega will at least hold its value, while actually giving me some tangible sense of enjoyment that I just can't get from an abstract retirement fund. ;)

For the record, I've been wearing a '59 Seamaster for the past 5 or 6 years. It's a handsome piece, set me back about $325, and has performed very well but, but "Mad Men" ended a long time ago and I'm ready for a change.

Anyway, I've looked at about 10,000 different watches over the past several weeks, and have narrowed my search down to a few models that I believe I should be able to find in the ballpark of $1500, given some patience/luck:

- The original black-dialled Speedmaster Mark II (ref. 145.014)

- The grey/blue dialled Seamaster "flat Jedi" (ref. 176.024)

- The blue or silver dialled Seamaster "fat Jedi", TV case edition (ref. 176.005)

(Honourable mention would go to a nice Seiko 6105-8110 diver, though I have somewhat irrational reservations about dropping $1000+ on a watch with an original mid-70s sticker price of $100...)

All of these strike me as very wearable "statement watches". Fun, 1970s gadget-y, but still classy enough to wear with just about anything.

So my question to you, dear cognoscenti, is: can I go wrong with any of these? I'm aware of pitfalls (i.e. fakes, polished cases and aftermarket dials, etc.) but am more concerned with, for example, the notion of the watch-buying world getting completely sick of Speedmasters due to the great Speedmaster Flood of the past several years.

Thoughts, advice, gratuitous insults: I wanna hear 'em! Thanks in advance.

Spruce and GuiltyBoomerang like this.
  2. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Mar 11, 2017

I like the Mark II.