Forums Latest Members

Buying first Omega in Sydney, some advice please?

1. yamaarashi Mar 22, 2016

Hi All!

Well, after receiving a sizeable bonus this year, I'm finally looking to buy the watch I've lusted after for a long time - a seamaster 300m diver. Now the question is, what should I be paying? I can do $3500, stretching to $3750 if I really have to, is this doable with ADs or am I in dreamland? I'm also willing to go grey market so long as I can see what I'm buying first (I'm hitting up Costco this weekend in the hopes of getting lucky).

Can you guys offer any advice to a newbie?

2. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Mar 22, 2016

3. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Mar 22, 2016

True, his prices may be a bit higher than eBay stuff, but his stuff is authentic, good quality, and has a warranty if not as disclosed.

I got my Railmaster from him, totally happy.

4. Huus Mar 22, 2016

5. yamaarashi Mar 22, 2016

Thanks guys, he's got a couple of what I'm after (the newer model with the clear, non wave dial) and if I can't find something close to the price I'm after will definitely pay him a visit. I've heard good things about Swiss Concept in Pitt St and will probably head in there just to have a look in person and try them on. What sort of discounts are Aussie ADs offering these days? I read there was a big crackdown on them, but this was way back in 2009 and I haven't seen anything since then regarding how the Aus market is.

6. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Mar 22, 2016

One point, he's not the haggling type

7. dx009 Mar 22, 2016

An AD that doesn't haggle ? ::screwloose:: I mean, he doesn't have to drop the price by 50%, just make the customer feel like he's getting a bargain.

8. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Mar 22, 2016

Did you open the link before posting that comment ?

9. dx009 Mar 22, 2016

I have now, still not getting it...