Forums Latest Members

Buying a Speedy thru A.D. In NJ/NY area

1. MJ2008 Guest Apr 29, 2014

I am presently looking to buy my first good watch . I am looking at the Speedy Pro and also at a Rolex. My question is going thru an a.d. in my area is it unreasonable to expect to get a price below the listed retail price or do Omega a.d. adhere to full list prices. I'm new at this and would prefer going through a jeweler in business for quite a few years than going to an internet seller. Thanks for any advice anyone can offer.

2. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Apr 29, 2014

tinger likes this.
  3. ulackfocus Apr 29, 2014

4. omega1337 Apr 30, 2014

Why would you buy in state? Go across state lines, and not pay tax. I bought a watch from NY by the way, free shipping overnight, no tax, with a GREAT discount. I am on the west coast.

Alicia's Jewelers if you must buy from NY. Ask to talk to Sam.

5. ulackfocus Apr 30, 2014

From the NJ-1040 Form - pertinent portion underlined in bold:

"45. Use Tax Due on Internet, Mail-Order, or Other Out-of-State Purchases (See Worksheet and instruction page 35). If no Use Tax, enter ZERO (0.00). ………."

I don't know if California's state tax return expects payment or even asks for this information, but in NJ if you're caught skipping out on this you get fined and penalized with interest attached. The only way to get around this is to buy an item in Delaware and take possession of it in Delaware also.

Man, some bad information is going around this place.

citizenrich likes this.
  6. citizenrich Metal Mixer! Apr 30, 2014

If you're going to try and be a tax cheat, at least keep it to yourself. a lot of our tax system is based on voluntary compliance.

Lol this open rebel speak about tax cheating and flaunting sales tax is exactly what will eventually cause US Tax authorities to further tax the crap out of any and everything that moves.

And, ulackfocus is correct about your bad 411

7. omega1337 Apr 30, 2014