Forums Latest Members

Buy now- steeper prices ahead...

1. jcmartinez98 Jan 15, 2015

2. shane0mack Jan 15, 2015

I wonder if this will shift even more early manufacturing to the far east.

3. NT931 Jan 15, 2015

Not being an economist, I wonder what the effects will be. Will prices go up as the Swiss Franc strengthens? Or will watchmakers, given weakening demand and slower sales in 2014, keep prices stable? What do people think? ::confused2::

4. redpcar Jan 15, 2015

I think my exports from the US will increase ::bleh::

5. yinzerniner Jan 15, 2015

Prices will ultimately rise, how much anyone knows.

6. chunkythebulldog Jan 16, 2015

Wasn't the Swiss Franc capped only against the Euro? Leaving £ Sterling, Dollar etc relatively unaffected by this action and only open to the usual currency fluctuations which I would have thought that Swatch etc would hedge anyway

7. shane0mack Jan 16, 2015

I don't like that they capped it to begin with. Now we get to watch a more violent correction as opposed to the natural course of things.

The CHF was gaining ground above the USD for some time before the cap, so the cap helped the strength of the USD. Since the USD was strengthening against the Euro, USD purchasing power was increasing in Switzerland as well. I'm sure the SNB wanted to break away from the weakening Euro and get back to normal. Of course, things will correct. Swiss citizens will look to neighboring countries for goods that can be bought with their increased purchasing power, bringing cash to those countries as well as out of the Swiss economy. Who knows how long it will take, but this immediate jump will normalize. Also, I am not an economist, just using logic.

8. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Jan 16, 2015

Go see the Omega Museum while you can still afford to to go to Switzerland. :(

Privateday7 likes this.
  9. Nobel Prize Spell Master! Jan 16, 2015