Forums Latest Members
  1. CajunTiger Cajuns and Gators can't read newspapers! May 19, 2017

2. Joe K. Curious about this text thingy below his avatar May 19, 2017

I bet the average lot price in this weeks "Okie Boys Summer blowout livestock auction" will be ten fold lower than the average price on the Christies watch auction...... Maybe I should write an "editorial" about this....

:cool::p

3. Jking something intelligent and witty... May 19, 2017

I'll just go ahead and admit that I have little to no knowledge of fine art...however the one thing I'm somewhat sure of is the fact that most of the time isn't there only one copy of the original painting, sculpture, etc? The extreme rarity and Allure of owning the only piece ever made has a bit to do with the price of art. I know a few watches might be extremely rare in their own right but aren't those the ones already going for millions? I would assume there are simply too many examples available of most references to drive the entire category into the same stratosphere as fine art.

marco likes this.
  4. PHPHD May 19, 2017

In the realm of anything that doesn't have an intrinsic monetary valuation (e.g. generates some estimated amount of cash flow), of which collectibles fall under, it's hard to call out something being a 'bubble' just because of the velocity of price increases. The price is what it is - a price. There is always a peak for historical prices - and unless that is the highest point forever, there will always be a next time when prices will exceed that previous peak.