Forums Latest Members
  1. PhilF Jul 27, 2019

Ok, admit to being a newbie Speedmaster owner, I've successfully changed bands & bracelets on Seikos, Bulova & others, I have an assortment of quality strap tools as well as the tool that came with my Speedy.
    Read the book that shows how to change the bracelet, including the caution "This manipulation can result in damage to your watch" that my Omega Boutique will be pleased to make the change for me. Ok, my AD is a 2-hour round trip and the nearest Boutique is an hour and a half minimum on a toll road (Pa Turnpike$$$).
    I haven't installed my new Velcro NATO because, quite frankly, I don't want to scratch the lugs on a $4000+ watch and a long trip for a strap change is kinda dumb.
    Should I order a Bergeon 6825 Bracelet tool from Otto Frei? Looks like it should make the task less risky. So what's the collective opinion here? Should I just try it with the factory-supplied tool? I'm a retired Biomedical technician, so I'm not without skills, just a bit intimidated by the $'s involved if I screw this up.
    Appreciate any advice, thanks

2. avidmark Jul 27, 2019

Yes! I have a knockoff version and it still saves my lugs.

connieseamaster and PhilF like this.
  3. OmegaFan503 Jul 27, 2019

I use the omega supplied one. It is pretty good.

You can try putting tape under the lugs near where the pins are. It will give some protection to scratches.

waveguide and Foo2rama like this.
  4. Dan S Jul 27, 2019

A good tool helps, but it won't totally substitute for skill and experience. I would suggest practicing on a different watch until you're confident you have developed the necessary level of skill. With enough experience, you won't be concerned about scratching the lugs.

whyboddau, Turpinr and PhilF like this.
  5. snunez Jul 28, 2019