Forums Latest Members
  1. ChiPianoTuner Mar 30, 2016

Hi All,

I've been searching for a Geneve Admiralty for a few months now. I saw this one come up and I'm not sure if it's fake or not:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I am woefully ignorant when it comes to watch identification, but two things caught my eye: first, the case back is not original, but I'm not sure that's a dealbreaker for me. Second, the crown looks too small. The movement looks comparable to others I've seen posted on this forum (and others), and the band looks good too. Again, I could be way off base on everything.

Can anyone with a more trained eye add any insight? Thanks very much.

meganfox17 likes this.
  2. tyrantlizardrex Mar 30, 2016

Edited Mar 30, 2016
  3. ChiPianoTuner Mar 30, 2016

Thanks for your reply. As I mentioned, I'm quite new at this and I think that I confused the printing on the inside of the case back with the printing on the outside of the case back. I had read the thread you posted, and a few others on other forums, and I suppose the case back could be original.

The crown, however, still looks significantly smaller than in just about every other photo I've seen. Is it possible that the one in the photos I posted is a replacement? Is relatively simple to have the right person order and install a different crown?

I appreciate your (and hopefully the forum's) tolerance for someone who's still learning the ropes.

4. tyrantlizardrex Mar 30, 2016

Hard to say with 100% certainty from the angle of the photos, but the crown does look to be incorrect.

Not something insurmountable for a watchmaker to put right, it may raise questions about the general service of the watch though.

I think this is one to look at with eyes wide open when negotiating the price... Factor in a proper service including correct crown.

5. dragoman Mar 30, 2016

The crown is definitely not the original one.