Forums Latest Members
  1. pcdubc Jan 7, 2015

Hello,

I'm very new to vintage Longines, but saw this beautiful watch on Auctionata. It is beautiful as-in, but is something off with it? Why is the estimated value so low?

http://auctionata.com/o/98377/longines-chronograph-switzerland-around-1960

158265-0010-h.jpg

One other odd thing is that the cal. number is 5499917, which corresponds to the late 30's, but the auction title suggests 1960. The crown seems not to be original either.

Your opinions are much appreciated

Many thanks!

Peter

Edited by a mod Jan 7, 2015
    ELV web likes this.
  2. LarryG not KennyG, not OG, just LarryG Jan 7, 2015

From the picture I'd have to say redial.
    That and 34mm size probably reason for selling for 4k.
    You're right, this one according to mov't numer is 1936, first year for the 13zn i believe.

3. Modest_Proposal Trying too hard to be one of the cool kids Jan 7, 2015

Does this secondary example spread some light?

Either they are both from the same redialer, or they are both excellent "survivors".

301.jpg
    hermes4, pcdubc and Hijak like this.
  4. ulackfocus Jan 7, 2015

Enamel dials do tend to last an extremely long time.

It sold for €2800 - a bargain if original (IMO it probably is).

5. Stewart H Honorary NJ Resident Jan 7, 2015

...and they can usually be cleaned without damaging the markings.

6. pcdubc Jan 8, 2015

Thanks folks. Well it is coming my way. The hands and crystal may not be correct, but everything else (case,crow,dial,movement) has been confirmed by Longines, according to Auctionata.

After the Buyers premium and shipping, the total runs about $4k USD.

7. LarryG not KennyG, not OG, just LarryG Jan 8, 2015

Congrats!
    Im just wondering how Longines confirmed the dial?