Forums Latest Members
  1. subnuc Sep 14, 2015

I humbly enter this forum with many years of appreciation of Omega and a desire to learn all that I may from your wealth of expertise and experience. I purchased my Speedmaster Professional from the ship's store on the USS Proteus (AS-19) on October 24, 1973 in Apra Harbor, Guam. I have cherished it ever since and would like to know more about it's place in the lineage of Speedmasters.

UncleBuck likes this.
  2. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy Sep 14, 2015

We welcome all you bubblehead tenders and we really love great pictures of cool watches!
    Would love to see yours, I have a Seamaster I bought in a PX in Korea in '72 that says "hello".

IMGP4062-1.jpg

TNTwatch and Mad Dog like this.
  3. subnuc Sep 14, 2015

As it happens, Uncle Buck, I wasn't a tender puke. I was awaiting the arrival of my submarine, the USS Henry Clay (SSBN 625) back from it's previous patrol to the tender. I made six patrols out of Guam aboard the Clay between 1972 and 1975. The Speedmaster Professional was my continuous companion throughout many evolutions, including reactor SCRAMS, etc. I love this watch. I wear it every day.
    Do any of you have Speedmasters which you wear routinely dating from before this time period? I hope you are enjoying them! Mine is a workhorse.No muss, no fuss. Like the Energizer Bunny, it just keeps on ticking........
    I do have a question or two regarding the engraving on the back of my Speedmaster, however. I have never seen anything like it in any online sources. As I said, I bought it in 1973. The case back is beveled, obviously. Within, and concentrically engraved around the flat surface is the text "Flight Qualified By NASA For All Manned Space Missions".
    Inside that area is the engraved Omega symbol, surmounting the layered text "The First Watch Worn On The Moon" Any clues?.

4. subnuc Sep 15, 2015