An Omega Found...

When I graduated from college my mother gave me an Omega watch. Not being much of a watch wearer I wore it for a few months and then put it in a drawer. Over time I forgot where it was, but often wondered...

Last night my youngest daughter hands me this random bag of stuff and in it was the watch which I hadn't see in more than a decade.

But I graduated in 1988 and the watch is a 1988 Omega Seamaster with the 1441 (quartz) movement and because it was essentially unworn for the last 35 years in almost perfect condition. Upon replacing the battery it had a little trouble starting up again, but after an hour the second hand smoothed out and it's ticking away.

I am not interested in selling the watch, but wanted to put this story here along with some pictures because this site and these forums were invaluable in letting me know what I might have and the things to look for when identifying it (e.g. the movement, quartz vs. automatic etc.).

And yes, I called my mother to thank her again.

Nice watch with a good story. Since it's a keeper, I'd advise to send it for a service. There's a few moving parts that need to be cleaned and oiled. Also a good clean of the electronics doesn't hurt.

Nice watch with a good story. Since it's a keeper, I'd advise to send it for a service. There's a few moving parts that need to be cleaned and oiled. Also a good clean of the electronics doesn't hurt.
Agreed that’s its worth sending for a service; although, it’s worth nothing- I believe Omega, if they still accept this caliber, will just replace the movement altogether.

Nice. Glad that the battery didn’t leak. I ruined a watch once doing what you did — leaving it sitting for several years. Luckily it wasn’t worth that much.

Agreed that’s its worth sending for a service; although, it’s worth nothing- I believe Omega, if they still accept this caliber, will just replace the movement altogether.