Forums Latest Members

An interesting watch collection theme: Science!

1. Jones in LA Isofrane hoarder. Feb 17, 2016

A thread posted recently by @alon "Share your love for the 15K Gauss SM AT"

https://omegaforums.net/threads/share-your-love-for-the-15k-gauss-sm-at.35792/

reminded me how much I like this watch, even though I own another Aqua Terra that I love very much.

at_15000g.jpg
    Image credit: www.jomashop.com

And I got to thinking...the AT 15,000+ Gauss is analogous to the Rolex Milgauss, which is another watch that I've always thought is really cool

Mgauss.jpg
    Image credit: www.jomashop.com

Then I got to thinking some more and said to myself: "What a great idea for a collection theme! Science!" I've been working as an Earth Scientist for the last 33+ years (in the weird and obscure field of Rock Mechanics), so what better way could there be to combine my passion for my vocation with my passion for watches?

It should be clear from what I've written previously in this Forum that I have limited interest in vintage (translate: oftimes beat-up) watches. I like new, shiny stuff a lot more. And aside from the examples shown above, there is at least one other really cool, new, science-themed watch that I know about:

JLC_gp1.jpg
    Image credit: www.Jaeger-LeCoultre.com

I think I can make a case that I've already got a good start to a Science-themed collection, as this watch is closely associated with space exploration and even contains a chunk of Space itself:

IMG_0299_mods.jpg

A question for Forum members: are there any other contemporary, mechanical watches that would be good candidates for a Science-themed collection?

Edited Feb 17, 2016
    Mad Dog, arkstfan and Lou P like this.
  2. Northernman Lemaniac Feb 17, 2016

IWC Ingenieur?

davidswiss, Darlinboy and Jones in LA like this.
  3. fibonacci086 Feb 17, 2016

Omega speedmaster aventurine dial is a nice piece of rock

Jones in LA likes this.
  4. Jones in LA Isofrane hoarder. Feb 17, 2016