Forums Latest Members

Am I getting a deal on my first PO?

1. Mike4881 Aug 7, 2016

Hi All,

Newbie here. First, I must say this forum has provided me with a ton of great information as someone just beginning to look for my first Omega. I'm pretty set on purchasing a new PO GoodPlanet model. Right out the gate I decided to purchase through a local AD in hopes of getting a nice discount. There are probably 20-25 ADs in my region that I can work with so competition for business is presumably high.

Yesterday, I visited an AD who wrote me an offer on the GoodPlanet with rubber strap. The price was 28% off retail which sounds great. My question is: can I do better? I'm also looking to get the bracelet with my purchase. Should I try to get a deal on that as well?

Thanks for the help! Really looking forward to any guidance. I'm planning to make my purchase in the next few days.

Separately, if anyone has recommendations for other strap options to explore I'm all ears.

2. Willem023 Aug 7, 2016

Hi Mike,

Welcome!
    I bought my AT8500 some years ago at a local jeweller, also certified Omega-dealer.
    There was some stiff competition amongst them, but in the end I decided to support the local owner of this jewellery. He's a nice and knowledgeable guy, in town for the 4th generation, and I wanted him to have my money although I might have had the opportunity to bargain 100-200 EUR off at other places.
    Sometimes, for me, it is not all about the money....

Before you know it, he is giving me a sweet deal on some other stuff I was in his shop for a year later... :cool:

My2Ksh

Edited Aug 7, 2016
    AestheticAmbush likes this.
  3. ulackfocus Aug 7, 2016

I wish I had a dollar for every one of these threads I've seen over the years.

Alpha likes this.
  4. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Aug 7, 2016

First it's cheaper to buy on bracelet then to source the bracelet later.

Is the Goodplanet out of production?

5. SamQue Aug 7, 2016