Forums Latest Members

Alternative Pro Diver, What Do You Think?

1. vadimo Jan 20, 2016

Warning:This is not high end watch topic :)

The watch: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B000OP5GDW/ref=pd_luc_rh_wl_01_02_t_img_lh?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I have been looking on amazon at the watches, just bored, i got my Omega Seamaster 300....I came across Invicta Pro Diver on the link, they have few designs mainly design traits cues from Rolex and some Omega going on there too.

These models range between £70 and £100 and i have to say for that price i am amazed at the value and the watch looks so tempting to try and possibly even buy, the reviews also are very high rating.

If i didn't have my Omega i probably would purchased one of those.

Anyone had actually any experience with the brand and the watch?

2. Jones in LA Isofrane hoarder. Jan 20, 2016

Hey there @vadimo. I haven't personally purchased or worn an Invicta watch but one of my dearest friends produces his own brand of watches using the same business model as Invicta (so I think I have some personal insight into what the Invicta brand is about). The watches are mass-produced at a very low cost utilizing components made in China and Japan, and incorporate case and bracelet designs developed by the designer/producer. Of course, many of these designs are meant to mimic popular designs from high-end watch makers. There is no reason to expect that Invicta's products would be of any less quality than peer brands selling watches at the same price point.

Here's a link to quite an illuminating interview with Invicta's founder. The interview was done in 2000, and I suspect that much of the component making and actual watch assembly done in Japan at that time has since shifted to China.

http://www.timezone.com/2002/09/25/interview-with-eyal-lalo/

vadimo likes this.
  3. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jan 20, 2016