Forums Latest Members
  1. Herbertson Mar 10, 2019

Dear members,

Can anybody advise me on a Omega Speedmaster Professional on Ebay (https://www.ebay.com/itm/273729987494Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network). I want to buy this watch for my son. His birthday is in Juli. What is the quality/price relation? I am not an expert. Thank you for your effort.

With kind regards,

Herbert Richardson

2. Psych Mar 10, 2019

I am not an expert, either. But have a look at Speedmaster101.com, which is posted by one of the members of this Forum. You'll see a very handy price guide for the various early Speedmaster models.

The ebay listing looks extremely expensive to me.

Have a look at the Private Watch Sales section of this Forum. If you are patient, you can pick up a good watch at the price collectors sell to other collectors and with the assurance that any listing has passed the expert eagle eyes of the members here. May need patience, but you shouldn't go far wrong.

Good luck.

3. OMEGuy Mar 10, 2019

Apart from the replacement crown the watch looks all correct to me.

There are 'funny' and 'uncommon' auction terms as well, especially this part:

"Dear followers of my Omega Speedmaster Professional auction on Ebay,

Do not you also think that bidding on Ebay is boring? Always waiting until the last moment and still not be the winner?

So let's do it differently:
    I'm going to lower the "Buy it Now" price by 1000 € every day around 8:00 pm (CET):
    - on March 22 I will lower the price to 19000 €,
    - on March 23 to 18000 €
    - on March 24 to 17000 €,
    - and so on,
    - until the price stands at 12000 €. I will not go lower.
    If you now fear that another bidder is just one fraction of a second earlier than you with his/her "Buy it Now", then you make me an offer before 7:00 PM (CET) that is 500 € higher than the price that will start from 8:00 PM (CET) on that day .

Exciting and fun, is not it?