Forums Latest Members
  1. erasmus666 Dec 6, 2019

Apologies if this has been asked before but I'm new to buying luxury watches. I'm considering either an Omega De Ville Prestige 36mm OR a Tudor 1926 36mm. I appreciate the former watch is a chronograph whereas the Tudor is not. Does anyone have any thoughts please about which one I should go for and why? Thank you in anticipation of your replies. Michael

2. rondeaux Dec 6, 2019

These are new watches and this is a vintage sub-forum so this might need to relocate. That said, I think you mean chronometer instead of chronograph. The chronometer won't make all that much of a difference as they'll both run pretty accurately as new watches. Hard to tell you what to buy though other than to get what you like within your budget.

3. stevec14 Dec 6, 2019

Honestly, I think you should buy the one you like best. Ultimately it’s you who will be looking down on it all the time so pick the one that puts a smile on your face the most. They are both good watches.

personally, I’d prefer the omega but that’s just me. Tudor make a fine watch.

kip595 likes this.
  4. pongster Dec 6, 2019

Try both on. And see which jumps at you.

Personally, neither piece particularly appeals to me. But i do love both brands.

wagudc and Foo2rama like this.
  5. scapa Dec 6, 2019

I might look at the Tudor BB 36 if you're in the market for a mid-size from one of these two marques. Lacks the two-tone of the 1926 but has a very clean and purposeful dial and some fine case detailing. It can be dressed up or down and is a pleasure to wear. Just a suggestion, and good luck with your search,

Lotus_Eater8815 likes this.
  6. Claven2 Dec 6, 2019

The prestige deville is ultra-slim for an automatic. I have one, or rather I did until my wife decided it should be hers.... but I loved it for the brief period I had it. It wear much larger than 36mm, by the way, because it is so thin.