Forums Latest Members
  1. trey333 Sep 9, 2016

Hi guys,

I'm new to the watch collecting world but I have really been attracted to vintage Omega timepieces. I really appreciate quality, history and a good deal and these seem like a great place to start.

I found this forum and have read some great info. Lots of reports of great finds and lots of beneficial advice on how to spot fakes.

I would love to find a nice Geneve. I've seen videos on YouTube recommending these as good values and I have found a variety on ebay that look great. I am just a little overwhelmed and concerned by the number of sellers on ebay and the number of buyers who bid on stuff that is obviously faked.

I figured that since these were relatively low ticket items that their wouldn't be too many fakes, but it seems that the market is flooded with people making frankens out of these and other similar models.

I hope my post doesn't fall into the category of a dumb newb not doing his due dilegence by searching the forums but I do have a few specific questions:

1) Are these even something I should be looking at as a beginner with a smaller budget? Or are there better buys out there? Should I save up for something else?

2) Is there a better online marketplace than ebay? I can't seem to find anything else with a big selection for this budget. Any particular sellers that you would recommend who specialize in older more affordable omegas?

Thank you for your help!

- Trey

Jwit likes this.
  2. ulackfocus Sep 9, 2016

Hi Trey. Welcome to ΩF.