Forums Latest Members
  1. smish May 13, 2016

Hi guys, so I'm relatively new to the watch game and was looking at getting my first vintage omega and just wanted some help. I am currently looking at these two because they are local, I'm from Australia and the AUD is very weak at the moment so trying to stay local for now. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance guys.

This is the first one, there isn't much details about it besides the pictures really.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Omega-Se...478501?hash=item3f629e4265:g:tXgAAOSw8vZXMBZwPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

The second one, major concern here would be what the seller stated regarding the quartz movement.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Vintage-...983484?hash=item43ee2186fc:g:Cl4AAOSwiYFXLfM1Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

Thanks again guys.

GuiltyBoomerang likes this.
  2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! May 13, 2016

If you google the number inside the case back of the first watch, you'll be able to find information about the watch. The second seller has no idea what he's talking about. Unless the second was a prototype ;), there weren't quartz watches in the early 60s.

smish likes this.
  3. cimo May 13, 2016

Have you decided it is a Quartz watch you want? I feel like there is a lot of missing info here. What is your budget, what are you looking for in terms of movement, size, style, etc.

Seems like a fine watch if that era Quartz is what you are looking for. I have a feeling most vintage collectors here stick to mechanical varieties, with the exception of some historical or interesting electronic watches such as the accutron. I would encourage you to look around and read as much as possible before committing to a purchase.

GuiltyBoomerang and smish like this.
  4. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy May 13, 2016

Hi smish and welcome!