Forums Latest Members

Advice on exporting watches from the UK

1. WhereMadnessLies Feb 28, 2021

Does anyone have any experience in shipping watches from the UK now that Brexit has happened? I've never done this before (as I've never sold any watches outside of the EU till now) and it looks like it is going to be a bit of a minefield. It's something I want to get right because some of the items have a value where it would be quite bothersome to loose out on due to red tape.

Obviously the buyer will be responsible for any customs/import duties but what happens if they want to send the watch back? I don't want to have to pay customs/import duties just to get the watch back.

I've tried to find some information on this and it appears the duties/charges can be claimed back by filling out a “Returned Goods Relief” form, C1314. This form mentions that I'll also need a valid C88 export form but the Gov.uk page where that is hosted hasn't been updated since 2014, which doesn't exactly fill me with confidence.

Has anyone else had to navigate this and if so do you have any words of wisdom?

2. slavedata Feb 28, 2021

3. Jonathan40 Feb 28, 2021

You are well within your rights to sell privately with a clear statement that nil returns accepted.
    That clears one of your issues.
    You must insure the item during shipping for an amount you are happy with, sale price normally.
    Do not under declare it on the customs form and there should be no issues.

4. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Feb 28, 2021

So would you buy much with a clear statement of nil returns ?

nzshadow likes this.
  5. smoothsecondscom Feb 28, 2021

Never expected that brexit would be so annoying as a watch lover :( import duties and shipping hassles are annoying as fuck.

6. Jonathan40 Feb 28, 2021

Don’t we see plenty of listing on this sales forum with “private seller no returns, no buyers remorse, no return unless it’s not genuine”