Forums Latest Members
  1. M. Bozorg Feb 8, 2018

I am a self-admitted NOOB, that would be grateful for some expert eyes on this Seamaster that I am considering. But first I want to thank the community and everyone that contributes - I'm learning so much from this forum.

I've tried to do my homework... I am learning to focus on the dial for originality, movements, and cross-check pictures with reference models.

This (https://omegaforums.net/threads/omega-seamaster-de-ville-cal-565-650.62615/) seems to be a good cross reference and to my eye, it checks out nicely.

Of course there are the crosshairs.. but again they also seem clean and don't suggest a redial, based on what I could gather from this post (https://omegaforums.net/threads/crosshair.7889/)

I also don't think that the movement has been frankened (the serial number, caliber and year all line up, and the parts are roughly the same colour / wear). the first 3 numbers on the case back (166) also seem consistent with the model type.

The seller says its an original dial. It looks very clean though without much patina so i am guessing its been buffed.If anything my overall sense is that the watch is 'too clean / fresh' if there is such a thing...

So I am wondering:

1. Any advice, or red flags? I would be most grateful!
    2. What does the blue stamp on the inside case back signify?

thank you

M. Bozorg.

10.jpg 9.jpg 8.jpg 7.jpg 6.jpg 5.jpg 4.jpg 3.jpg 2.jpg 1.jpg
    Bumper, Noddyman and cristos71 like this.
  2. micampe Feb 8, 2018

I think it looks nice and correct, even the crystal with logo and magnifier.

The blue stamp was probably left by the watchmaker at a previous service.

If you get it please remove that strap.

Spruce and M. Bozorg like this.
  3. BenBagbag Feb 8, 2018

4. OmeNewb Feb 8, 2018

M. Bozorg likes this.
  5. BenBagbag Feb 8, 2018

haha must be same seller with the same tacky green NATO on each. Good luck. Hopefully you won't have so much competition in the end!