Forums Latest Members
  1. rping Apr 4, 2015

Hi guys,

So I finally bought my first vintage watch a couple of months ago, a Heuer Autavia 7763. Now I've been bitten by the bug, and am looking for another vintage watch.

I have my eye on a Speedmaster Mk. II with a racing dial. I have researched moonwatches quite a bit, but there's not much out there about Mk. II's. What should I be looking for in these watches?

I recently tried one on at a dealer in Boston that was completely overhauled by Omega. It was nice, but kind of lacked the charm of a watch with some patina (also, too nice to wear everyday).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Rich

2. ock2915 Apr 4, 2015

Basically you can find the Mark II in B&W face and racing dial ,,is nice and recently Omega launched the new version ( rather faithful to the original one ) , but personally I would try to get the original Speedmaster version

3. Emeister Donut-eatin desk-divin wannabe-astronaut fat dude Apr 4, 2015

Hi Rich,

Sounds like you are, wisely ;), after a vintage 'Racing' with a little character.
    It's very much down to personal taste with these as each opportunity arises.
    Some cases have been completely polished to a mirror finish :eek: others still contain a fair amount of the 'starburst' graining but may have the odd scratch through it here and there.
    You'll be looking for a T-Swiss Made-T dial if you want original. The luminous hour markers can be in various states from perfect to, what I assume is, scraped clean. The vibrancy of the colours also varies a lot.
    The hands are something that seems to depend on the photographer, assuming you are not able to see a piece in person. There is a complete colour range of bright orange down to the washed out yellow on my own example. Some looks "sing" to me and others don't. I have, however, witnessed completely contrasting apparent colours in different pictures within the same listing of the one watch.