Forums Latest Members

A little about me and my small pool of Universals.

1. Modest_Proposal Trying too hard to be one of the cool kids Sep 26, 2013

Hello,

I'm David. I've been watching over this site for a long time now and have only just started posting.

Two years ago, I knew next to nothing about mechanical watches. Longines, Omegas, Universal Geneves, Vacherons - I didn't know they existed. I was a sensible 20 year old who bought battery powered Walmart watches. What fool would spend $1000 on a watch?

It was during this time that I started experimenting with ways to make cash. I had worked at a convenient store at my university (I attend UCLA) that paid minimum wage and despised it so terribly that I was motivated to find more creative ways of earning a living. I had school loans to pay off in a few years, mind you, and living expenses.

I had earned a few thousand in my bank account and thought "what can I do?"...

I was a wayward student at that point and still an English major (thankfully I'm now in biological anthropology). As you know, sappy English majors are required to adore old dusty leather bound books, so I felt it my calling to buy and sell rare or otherwise valuable leather bound books. This was a miserable en devour. I made a few bucks at best in most transactions and the books took up space and they were heavy and expensive to ship and blah! Not enjoyable or profitable.

[​IMG]

After switching majors, I was no longer obligated to enjoy the smell of a cracked leather bound book and switched over to buying and selling bikes. I did this mostly because I was looking for a good vintage bike to ride to school and wanted to pay for it by buying other bikes on Craigslist and selling them on Ebay.

My dream of owning a Raleigh Deluxe full chaincase was finally achieved after a few months, though I never earned enough to pay for it with bicycles.

So there I was, heaving my self up the endless hills of UCLA... on a

[​IMG]