Forums Latest Members

A frank review of the Mido Commander 7750 based chronograph.

1. citizenrich Metal Mixer! Mar 26, 2015

I've not ever recommended a specific watch for purchase to anyone for any reason. Watches are pretty personal and I'm a lousy salesman. If you're not looking for a new watch, you can stop here.

About 3 months ago, I had to lend a helping hand to one of my security officers for a forced ejection of (2) unruly guests. My place is very upscale and we have a soft crowd. Unfortunately, I got stuck with the tougher of the (2), and he decided to be a bit squirrelly. I'm a big guy and I'm very experienced with physicality and brute and blunt force. I don't like to put my hands on anyone but when I do, you know it.

Somewhere along the way towards the door, the clasp on my Rolex Submariner twisted and snapped. Thankfully, the watch stayed on my wrist. I took the watch to Rolex in midtown and by the time I was done (COA, bezel insert, repair), I was out 750 bucks. This is not the first time this particular watch was damaged in the same general manner.

So, I decided I would get a new "work watch". A positive locking mechanism would be first priority. Second concern was cost and lastly, design and style.